It’s official for Mendham’s Vicarisi

By Mark Kitchin

Morriscountyvarsityboysbasketball

It’s official for Tore Vicarisi. The Mendham standout has been accepted to Emory University in Georgia where he plans to play basketball for the standout Division III squad.

“I have every intention of trying to play down there as much as I can,’’ said Vicarisi, who talked about his future after the Morris County Coaches season-ending luncheon. “It’s incredible academically. Actually, it’s a very successful basketball program. They were 20-5 this year. I just love the south.

“I like the warm weather. I have family down there. I pretty much grew up down there. I’m a southern boy at heart. Emory is right outside of Atlanta. I tried to use basketball to get into a school where my grades might not be able to. I get good grades but I don’t have a 4.0. GPA, so I tried to use basketball to get to a very elite school.’’

The basketball certainly helped. The Morris County Player of the Year averaged 19.3 points per game and 8.2 rebounds per contest. He was especially strong during the state tournament. He averaged 28 points per game and had an astounding 41-point, 12-rebound performance in the North 2, Group III sectional final against Plainfield.

The plan after basketball is to head for law school.

“I just want to be a lawyer one day,’’ Vicarisi said. “And go into criminal justice or  international relations and get my law degree.’’

About mcvbb

Mark Kitchin is a boys varsity basketball writer for the Morris County New Jersey area

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

